** Source or Reference: BASIC ENGLISH GRAMMAR By Anne Seaton • Y. H. Mew

What is Grammar?

Here’s an old children’s rhyme about the eight parts of speech of English grammar. It gives you an idea of what grammar is about. Read and remember it.

  • Every name is called a nounAs field and fountain, street and town.
  • In place of noun the pronoun stands, As he and she can clap their hands.
  • The adjective describes a thing, As magic wand or bridal ring.
  • Most verbs mean action, something done, To read and write, to jump and run.
  • How things are done the adverbs tell, As quickly, slowly, badly, well.
  • The preposition shows relation, As in the street or at the station.
  • Conjunctions join, in many ways, Sentences, words, or phrase and phrase.
  • The interjection cries out, “Heed! An exclamation point must follow me!

Let’s start it!

Part of speech Function or “job” Example words Example sentences
Verb action or state (to) be, have, do, like, work, sing, can, must My friend is an engineer. I like him very much.
Noun thing or person pen, dog, work, music, town, London, teacher, John This is my dog. He lives in myhouse. We live in London.
Adjective describes a noun a/an, the, 2, some, good, big, red, well, interesting I have two dogs. My dogs are big. I like big dogs.
Adverb describes a verb, adjective or adverb quickly, silently, well, badly, very, really My dog eats quickly. When he isvery hungry, he eats reallyquickly.
Pronoun replaces a noun I, you, he, she, some Tara is Indian. She is beautiful.
Preposition links a noun to another word to, at, after, on, but We went to school on Monday.
Conjunction joins clauses or sentences or words and, but, when I like dogs and I like cats. I like cats and dogs. I like dogs but I don’t like cats.
Interjection short exclamation, sometimes inserted into a sentence oh!, ouch!, hi!, well Ouch! That hurts! Hi! How are you? Well, I don’t know.

8 Parts of Speech

Leave a Reply

